my son the rising rock star iii: debut warm-up

“Chardonnay, please.” 

The barely-twenty blonde bartender covered by less clothing than I wear at the beach smiles and raises her eyebrows as in, “Sorry, I didn’t hear you.” 

“Chardonnay!” I raise my voice. She super-raises her eyebrows.  

I lean over the bar and cup my mouth with my hands like an Alpine yodeler trying to reach Austria from France, and in a volume not unlike the singer on stage screaming into the mike, I deliver, “CHARDONNAY!” 

“Weeennlhavbrrr.” Now I raise my eyebrows. 

“WE ONLY HAVE BEER!” Her voice cracks but her eyebrows remain friendly.

Forget my ‘blonde’ jab; this kid is good. You could get a bank loan using only the attitude expressed by her eyebrows as collateral. 

So beer it is. My son’s band is about to play. I look around me. I’m more than twice the age of anyone here. I notice the kid next to me is wearing a bar-issued wristband. I tap him on the shoulder and point to his wrist. The band has stopped and I can actually hear him: “It’s fifteen bucks for all the beer you can drink,” he says, happy to share the good news. 

This bar, the Penny Arcade, was around when I was my son’s age but tonight is my first time here, to hear my son’s band, Feedl, creators and purveyors of hard rock. The opening act, now leaving the stage, was Chaos. The headliners will be Aggressive Betty.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “my son the rising rock star iii: debut warm-up”

  1. Frank Paolo Says:

    “You could get a bank loan using only the attitude expressed by her eyebrows as collateral.”

    Great sentence! Felt I was right there at the bar getting cauliflower ears – but I’m glad
    you were instead. When I have to go to gigs like that, I always feel I’m about to fall and
    break a hip.


Leave a Reply

