gnus ewe can yews

I like watching the news. The world news at six-thirty. At my job I’m on the computer eight hours a day and can get news from the internet. But I like sitting down and watching it on TV. Like when I was a kid and we all watched it as a family.

As bad as the news generally is, I feel connected to the rest of the country when the latest death toll or layoff is announced. I know factory workers in the midwest, retirees in Florida and moms in the kitchen preparing dinner are watching along with me. It’s like listening to a song on my car radio and passing another car and there’s that funny synchronized vibration and I realize they are listening to the same radio station.

Sometimes I imagine my mom is sitting next to me watching the news. She died young, 27 years ago. When the anchorperson says, “The war costs $140 billion a year,” she smiles and says, “He misspoke, he meant $140 million.”

I shake my head and say, “No, mom, it’s billion – ‘B,’ as in ‘boy.'”

Unable to comprehend the amount, she asks, incredulously, “Where is this place we’re fighting?”

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “gnus ewe can yews”

  1. MarkS Says:

    Sad really. The decline continues, and I remember the old adage, “you don’t watch TV, it watches you”.

  2. Frank Paolo Says:

    To really get a relative idea of how much money our gov’t is pissing away to kill people in Iraq, think of it this way: imagine a stack of new $100 bills. A million dollars would be a stack of hundreds just over 3 feet high. A billion dollars would be a stack about the height of the Empire State Building.
    A trillion dollars in hundreds? That stack would be over 270-miles tall. Revised war estimates –
    included long term care for veterans and other budget items the Bush administration chooses to ignore – is over 2-TRILLION! SURGE THIS BUSH – you dumb shit!


Leave a Reply

