Telemarketer from Hell: Part II

I wrote a resume and cover letter for a fifteen-year telemarketing veteran who missed one appointment and showed up late for two others, reeking of alcohol.

He paid me a deposit with a credit card and the balance with a check. It bounced. Being in business for myself, I learned early on to handle bounced checks (I get about one a year) quickly and positively; this takes advantage of the personal rapport I have with my client after having spent an hour-and-a-half with him or her over two sessions.

I immediately called him. Ring…ring…ring… Someone answered. “Rochester Police,” they said.

I hesitated. It sure sounded like my client. “Brian?” I ventured.

“Yeah…”

I identified myself and said, “That check you gave me didn’t go through; can you give me a credit card number or…”

“Ha!” he fired at me. “For that piece of crap resume? It’s full of mistakes. I can’t even use it. I’m going to have to re-write it myself.” Then, “It’s karma that my check bounced!”

I couldn’t believe his lack of ethics and personal dignity, or the pathetic transparency of his strategy. Clearly, he wasn’t going to make good on the check, not to mention the fee my bank charged me. Not to be deterred, I said, “I like to be part of the solution, not the problem, so If you want to come over I’ll be happy to go over it with you and fix it.”

He mumbled something about having to arrange a ride and we hung up. I immediately pulled up his resume on my computer screen and examined it. I could find no mistakes.

Next post: this guy just won’t go away!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Telemarketer from Hell: Part II”

  1. Frank Paolo Says:

    WHAT WOULD PAOLO DO?
    By Certified Mail (Return receipt requested.)

    Dear Brian,

    I’m sorry we couldn’t settle the matter of your bounced check in a gentlemanly way. As you know, you agreed to pay $000.00 for my resume writing services which I completed on May… 2008. At that time, you accepted my finished product and paid me $000.00 as we had agreed. Unfortunately, your check bounced. On May…., 2008 I spoke with you at the Rochester Police Department. In addition to your insulting comments, you said you would not make good on your check and refused my offer to rewrite your resume at no additional charge.

    I am now forced to file a Small Claims case against you for the amount of that check, plus the bank fee I’ve incurred from this incident, plus Court costs. I intend to file on July…, 2008 which gives you 10-business days to pay what you owe me plus the bank fee. Of course, I will only accept a bank check or money order for the total amount.

    Additionally, at that time, I will file a report with the Rochester Credit Bureau, one of the first references potential employers check.

    By the way, people who do not pay their bills – nor honor their contracts – annoy me way beyond the dollars they try to fraudulently hold. I assure you, I will employ every LEGAL means necessary to get what you owe me – for however long it takes. I think you should know that. You should also know that in the end NO ONE has EVER failed to pay me what they legitimately owed.

    Sincerely,

    Richard Gardner
    Business

    c: Rochester City Small Claims Court
    Rochester Civic Center
    Fitzhugh Street
    Rochester, NY 14604

    c: Rochester Credit Bureau
    Prince Street
    Rochester, New York 14607


Leave a Reply

