Sea Bass; they grow on trees, don’t they?

When I was a kid we fished off the shore of Ocean City, New Jersey, one glorious summer day. After hours of riding atop thrilling roller coaster waves and catching everything from a choice flounder to sting rays, an eel, a sand shark, and a slew of sea robins, we ran out of bait. On the way back to shore, Ken, the son of the boat’s owners – who were friends of my parents – opened the engine compartment, took out an old rag, ripped off a small piece and baited his hook with it. The bait barely hit the water when he had a strike. A sea bass; small; the size of a woman’s foot.

My brother and I baited up and started reeling in sea bass like they were waiting to jump in the boat. We’d hit a school. Between the three of us we filled two five-gallon drywall paste buckets with sea bass and stopped fishing only because there was nowhere else to put them. Back on shore we lugged the sloshing buckets into the house, insisting to our doubtful parents that we were indeed going to clean, cook and eat 30 sea bass.

“They’re small,” I argued.

Suddenly, my brother and Ken were watching The Price is Right and it was just me cleaning the sea bass; two; Ken didn’t want any.

Ken’s mom cooked them. They were too sweet for me. My brother had fallen asleep. The rest of the bass in the buckets were already going belly up. When we left that night, Ken’s mom said not to worry, she’d “take care of” the 28 dead bass.

Since that day I’ve always thought of sea bass as plentiful, garbage-eating, overly-sweet fish that you couldn’t pay me to eat. I was quite suprised yesterday evening when I noticed sea bass in the supermarket was $20.99 a pound.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

