Group: She said…

It was check-in time.

“You want to start, Blythe?” asked the facilitator.

Blythe re-crossed her legs and adjusted a hem. “Let’s see, it was last Thursday. I thought I’d get part of the lawn mowed while dinner was in the oven. I couldn’t start the mower and I just went into this rage. I don’t know what came over me. I’m thinking, ‘If he hadn’t left me he could be here cutting the lawn while I made dinner.’ I told the girls If I wasn’t back in 20 minutes to take the meat out of the oven.  I got in my car and drove over to his girlfriend’s apartment – yes – even though he has an order of protection out on me. I knew he’d be there. I picked a doorbell at random and someone buzzed me in. I went up the stairs and knocked on their door, and told him to come out. I knew they were both in there; his car was out front. I was screaming now and pounding on their door, telling him he should be home where he belonged. People were looking out their doors…

“I knew he’d call the police,” she continued, taking a deep breath. “I said to myself, ‘Well, if I’m going to get arrested, I’m going to make it worth my while.’ I went back downstairs, got my daughter’s baseball bat out of my trunk, and I smashed the front windshield and back window of his car. I just beat on it and beat on it.”

I glanced around the circle; most of our group were gaping at her, this quiet, slight-of-build woman who we’d all come to know and love over the weeks.

Spontaenous applause broke out as the facilitator asked, trying to squelch a grin, “How’d you feel?”

I could only hear, “Good. Not too smart, but good…”

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Group: She said…”

  1. Frank Paolo Says:

    C’MON! You left out the most important part – was Blythe your ex-wife?


Leave a Reply

