Cell phone culture: how convenient!

Cell phones are convenient. You can call almost anyone, from almost anywhere. Cell phones are also one of the biggest hose-the-consumer rackets out there, just behind the credit card dictatorship government under which we live. With cell phones you can pay for extra charges almost anytime, anywhere.

You start by buying a new phone for $200. Remember when a desk phone was $20 or $30? Within eighteen months you need a replacement phone, since the “old” one doesn’t charge properly. Since you’re a good customer, they’ll let you upgrade for $70 more. In all my extended family, no one ever had to buy a new replacement home phone. They lasted literally forever.

Cell phone companies charge a $5.00 late fee. Doesn’t sound like a lot? Wait a minute; if your monthly phone bill is $45, then $5.00 represents an 11% late fee.

My old phone bill was less than $20 a month, or about $200 a year. Now its $600 and I’m locked into a contract.

Cell phone companies are charging their customers from every possible angle. Just who is setting the status quo here, anyway? I thought deregulation was supposed to be good for the consumer. I won’t be surprised if one day – soon – I discover I am now being charged by my cell phone company for processing my bill payment.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

4 Comments on “Cell phone culture: how convenient!”


  1. Everyone is now talking also about them contributing to cancer. So they are overcharging you for all the newest phones and gadget that might be killing you.


  2. The trick was making people think they had calls to make, rather than just to receive; this played upon the cumulative guilt and boredom in many empty lives. Get busy!–the cell phone says, and as result of the fact that everyone is busy making calls, they never receive them. No one gets calls anymore, the just make them and find out that the score is: zero, zero. “Just checking,” that is the content of the average cell phone call.

    I don’t have one of these retrograde phones, but I now know that whomever it was that was trying to get through to me, isn’t going to. Their voice is drowned out by the chatter and the blather.

  3. Frank Paolo Says:

    I don’t know why I get annoyed by people babbling on cell phones. They just flap their lips in incessant, dull chatter not realizing how stupid they look. I have a theory about the volume of a person’s voice and its direct relationship to intelligence. Basically, the louder someone is (if his hearing is OK) the more stupid he is.

    I guess if I were really stupid, I would want to speak softer so fewer people could hear me being a nitwit. Of course, if I could figure that out, I wouldn’t be stupid.

  4. Finkelstein Thompson LLP Says:

    Attorney Advertisement

    Finkelstein Thompson LLP is a law firm that represents consumers who have been harmed by large corporations’ unfair business practices. We are currently investigating cell phone, Internet, cable, satellite, and bundled service providers who charge late fees, reactivation fees, and early termination fees. If a service provider charged you any of these fees and you wish to discuss your rights, please contact us at our toll-free number 877-800-1450 or by email at contact@finkelsteinthompson.com. Responding to this advertisement does not, by itself, create an attorney-client relationship between you and Finkelstein Thompson LLP.


Leave a Reply

