Gift giving

A couple years ago my two adult children and I decided to refrain from buying each other presents for birthdays, Christmas, etc. We instituted a new policy: we would only give gifts that were “found” or “homemade.”

On the one hand this might sound limiting. I mean, how much stuff can you make by hand, or find on the curb (or really cheap at a flea market)? But on the other hand, how much money can you spend on a gift for someone and still not be satisfied; still not be certain you got the best thing? Seems the more I spend the less certain I am.

The plan has worked. My daughter made me a bulleting board, and between my daughter and my son they’ve burned me a lot of CDs. I made my son a calendar, a guitar scuplture, and found my daughter a couple of cool antique collectibles in a deceased relative’s estate sale.

We like our gifts. Making them, finding them, giving them and receiving them. The pressure to perform (30-inch screen vs 40-inch screen) is off, gone.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

