Atlanta: leading-edge or ultra-conservative?

Atlanta’s Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport is the largest airport in the world, with just under 90 million pasengers passing through its 200 departure gates in 2007. I walk an 18-minute mile. On my first visit to Atlanta in 2006 I know I walked all of that and more from my arrival gate to the baggage center, not being certain I could get there by the airport train service.

I was surprised then, while waiting at Hartsfield-Jackson for my flight back home to Rochester, when I noticed Christmas music playing overhead on the PA system. Not simply seasonal songs, like “It’s Lovely Weather for a Sleigh-ride Together,” but real Christmas carols that directly refer to or at least imply Christ. Is this not politically incorrect in 2008?

I commented on this to my daughter and son-in-law who were waiting with me. My son-in-law, who sells insurance products to realtors in Atlanta, nodding knowingly. He said when he calls on realtors he usually attends their weekly sales meetings. These meetings are regularly begun with a group Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag, and often include an opening prayer.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

