Searching for Jehovah

Question: What do you call a person who is an insomniac, an agnostic, and is dyslexic? Answer: Someone who lies awake at night wondering if there really is a doG.

That may be an old joke, but it’s often how I feel. For centuries the idea of God has been presented to us by organized religion.  Presented by radical Fundamentalists who hate and kill in His name; presented by ineffectual Western denomiations who are only “religious” on key Sundays during the year; presented by odd sects, like Mennonites or Lamas, who mind their own God-blessed business.

In college I majored in biology and I can articulate the key arguments supporting evolution. But as someone with five senses, I watch a great blue heron fly through the mist at sunrise and convince myself there must be a Reason. I watch 350,000,000 Americans go through their day and wonder if there isn’t a Purpose.

In the song Counting Blue Cars, by Dishwalla, a child asks, “Tell me all your thoughts on God, ’cause I’d really like to meet her; tell me all your thoughts on God, ’cause I’m on my way to see her; tell me, am I very far, now, am I very far?”

Maybe it’s time for a paradigm shift. Maybe religion needs to stop leading men and, instead, follow women.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Searching for Jehovah”

  1. Maria Friske Says:

    I’m down! The matriarchal Iroquois are a great example we could learn from. It wasn’t that the women were considered MORE powerful, just equal. They loved and VALUED women, counseled with them, revered them. The women were the other half of the whole.
    ps no men have commented on this writing of yours…


Leave a Reply

